Regulations

for the International Terminology Awards

0 Introduction

The International Terminology Awards will be awarded every second year for the highest achievement in research in the field of terminology. They have been established with a view to promoting research and development and supporting future terminological activity by rewarding the work of up-and-coming researchers in the field. The awards are open to candidates from all over the world.

The theses, dissertations or other contributions received will be evaluated by the International Terminology Awards Jury who will decide on the Award winner(s). The evaluation of the Jury will focus on the innovative content of the works and on how they contribute towards further developing applied research and development in the field of terminology. The second and third best dissertation or thesis may be given an honourable mention. No form of legal recourse is possible.

The Awards consist of a certificate and an amount of award money, which is jointly sponsored by a number of associations in the field of terminology and which may vary according to the number of sponsors. The Award ceremony will take place in conjunction with one of the major international terminology events.

The European Association for Terminology (EAFT) will act as Secretariat for the Awards, in that the EAFT Secretariat will administer communications concerning the competitions and contact with the Jury. Furthermore, an EAFT Board member will act as Chairperson of the Jury. All enquiries, comments or suggestions, therefore, should be addressed to the Secretary of the EAFT.

1 General

- 1.1 The two International Terminology Awards are
 - The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Theoretical/ Fundamental Research in the Field of Terminology
 - The International Award for Applied Terminology Research and Development.
- 1.2 Candidates for the above-mentioned Awards may be nominated by any academic institution. All applications must be accompanied by the full name and address of the submitting institution as well as those of the candidate together with a copy of the latter's CV. A copy of the dissertation or thesis must be sent in (one) hard copy as well as in electronic format together with a statement in support of the dissertation or thesis by the submitting institution to the EAFT Secretariat. This justification should not exceed one A-4 page.
- 1.3 Each institution may submit only one work which must reach the EAFT Secretariat no later than the deadline announced. The work should not be older than two years counting from the date on which the relevant academic institution published its assessment thereof. The dissertation or thesis should not have already been granted another prize or award.
- 1.4 Submissions may consist of theses or dissertations in any language but must be accompanied by a ten-page summary in English.
- 1.5 The Jury will evaluate the work of the nominated candidates and will decide on the Award winners (as well as on one or two runners-up, if deemed appropriate, in the form of an honorable mention). The required funds for the Awards as available in a given year are allotted by the Jury (in consultation with the sponsoring organisations).

- 1.6 The Jury may suggest that no Award be awarded in a given year, if no suitable candidate(s) has/have been proposed. If only dissertations or theses of good workmanship but of minor academic novelty have been submitted, the Jury may decide on only one or two runners-up. The Jury may further propose special awards, in consultation with the sponsoring organisations.
- 1.7 The EAFT and the bodies involved in the organization of the International Terminology Awards are not committed to publish the awarded works.
- 1.8 Information about the Award winner(s) will be publicized by the sponsoring organisations.

2 Call for nomination of candidates

- 2.1 The call for nomination of candidates for the Awards should take place at least six months prior to the relevant award ceremony.
- 2.2 The call for nomination of candidates shall be disseminated through the media and information/communication channels of:
 - the sponsoring organisations
 - their member organisations (and their respective members)
 - other relevant organizations.

3 The International Terminology Awards

- 3.1 The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Theoretical/Fundamental Research
 - 3.1.1 The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Theoretical/Fundamental Research will be granted for theoretical/fundamental research proper, as well as innovative research and development in the field of terminological tools.
 - 3.1.2 The publications submitted should be either a master's or a doctoral thesis or dissertation.
 - 3.1.3 The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Theoretical/Fundamental Research is sponsored by the European Association for Terminology (EAFT), the Association for Terminology and Knowledge Transfer (GTW) and TermNet.
 - 3.1.4 This Award will be granted every second year and presented to the winner(s) in conjunction with one of the major international events in the field of terminology.
- 3.2 The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Research and Development
 - 3.2.1 The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Research and Development will be granted for a terminological work addressing a specific need, such as a particular target-group, gaps or lacunae in a language's terminology, etc., or for design of a terminology course aimed at specialists in a specific domain or subdomain, or a training method based on terminological methods to compile the vocabulary of a specific domain or subdomain, or for design and creation of a system of terminology management within a business or organization, and must have a solid and recognized theoretical basis.
 - 3.2.2 The International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Applied Research and Development is sponsored by the European Association for Terminology (EAFT), the Association for Terminology and Knowledge Transfer (GTW) and TermNet.
 - 3.2.3 This Award is granted every second year and presented to the winner(s) in conjunction with one of the major international events in the field of terminology.

4 The International Terminology Awards Jury

4.1 The Jury members will be nominated by the Board of the European Association for Terminology, and the Jury will be chaired by a member of the EAFT Board. In the event that a selected work is written in a language in which less than two Jury members are fluent, the Chairperson of the Jury shall co-opt two qualified experts fluent in the language in question to appraise the quality of the work. The Chairperson may also appoint additional Jury members (in consultation with the sponsoring organisations) and external experts for the evaluation process. The Chairperson may

suggest amendments to or a revision of the Regulations and Rules to be decided upon in consultation with the sponsoring organisations. S/he may also assign certain functions to individual Jury members.

- 4.2 The Jury shall be composed of seven to nine ordinary members (including the Chairperson). The members should be graduates and internationally recognized experts in their respective fields of activity.
- 4.3 The Chairperson as well as the ordinary members of the Jury are appointed for a term of three years. The regular term ends after the award ceremony of the third year. Re-appointment is possible up to a maximum of three terms.
- 4.4 The Chairperson will rely on the EAFT Secretariat regarding operational details.
- 4.5 Membership of the Jury is on an honorary basis.